Drug Victim - Mongrel 7"

  • Drug Victim - Mongrel 7
  • Drug Victim - Mongrel 7
  • Drug Victim - Mongrel 7

Drug Victim - Mongrel 7"

Six minutes. That is all it takes for Plymouth powerviolence merchants Drug Victim to steam roll through their latest EP and pummel the listener in the face, shaking them in a way they won't forget in a hurry.
In true powerviolence fashion the quartet have squeezed as much intensity and ferocious energy into seven tracks which make up Mongrel in a short time frame.
The trouble which bands playing this fast can sometimes encounter is a case of blink and you miss it, but with Drug Victim it feels like their music isn't fast for the sake of being fast, everything seems to be thought out and structured in a specific way.
The record opens with a indication of how the next six minutes are going to go with a galloping floor tom roll before vocalist Chris White screams out the word bruise over and over.
With this brand of punk music there is a danger of things sounding sloppy, whether that is purposefully by design or just down to style, but in Drug Victim's case it feels like every riff, lyric, groove and drum beat is carefully crafted and weaved into this brutal tapestry.
Rather than this being an all out assault on your ears, which can sometimes be the case with powerviolence bands, Drug Victim have constructed this EP in a way that it hits may check marks for hardcore punk fans. You want a bit to two-step? Sure that's in there. You want blast beats? There are plenty. You want to mosh? This is catered for.
It may not be long in stature, but Mongrel packs so much punch into such a short space of time that your head will be rattled by the thought of what you have just listened to and will need to immediately revisit it to make sure you did just experience what you did.
- Tim Birkbeck, Just An Insight.

Artwork by Rory O'Neil (Imposter, Vile Spirit, State Funeral)
Noise on Peace by Haar.
Recorded at Shred Mountain 2020
This is a collective release with Blind Rage Records, Angry X Hungry Records and Boslevan Records.

Pressin info:
200 Slop Bucket
90 Black w/ screen printed B sides

More in Crew Cuts Release's View All